Saturday, June 22, 2024
HomeSportsGrenada gets ready to host South Africa in five-T/20 matches

Grenada gets ready to host South Africa in five-T/20 matches

Grenada Cricket Association, the Government of Grenada and Cricket West Indies are working together to facilitate a five-match T/20 Series between West Indies and South Africa at the Cricket Stadium in Queen’s Park in June.  

Earlier this month Cricket West Indies (CWI) announced that Grenada and Saint Lucia will host the June 10 to July 03, South Africa versus West Indies two-test series and five-T/20.

The T/20 matches at the Grenada Cricket Stadium will be played Saturday, June 26, 27, 29 and July 01 and 03. 

The South African tour is the start of an action-packed schedule for the West Indies Men, featuring three consecutive international home tours against South Africa, Australia and Pakistan, from June to August 2021.

The Test and T20 International (T20I) series against the Proteas, rescheduled from 2020, will start the International summer. 

South Africa is due to arrive at Saint Lucia on June 01 and will play two Test matches at The Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, followed by five T20Is at the Grenada National Cricket Stadium from June 26 to July 03.

CWI is grateful to the Governments of Saint Lucia and Grenada for agreeing, at relatively short notice, to host the touring South Africans. This will be the first time that South Africa has played bilateral cricket in the West Indies since 2010

Australia white-ball tour of the West Indies will also begin at Saint Lucia’s Sammy Cricket Ground hosting five T20Is.

The Aussies then move on to Barbados for three days/night CG Insurance One Day Internationals (ODIs) at the world-famous Kensington Oval. The CG Insurance ODIs provide the opportunity for West Indies to secure more points in the ICC ODI Super League, as the West Indies strive to qualify automatically for the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup following the recent 3-0 victory against Sri Lanka. 

Pakistan is scheduled to arrive in Barbados on July 21 ahead of their five-match T20I Series, with the first two matches to be played at Kensington Oval before travelling to Guyana to play the concluding three T20Is at Guyana’s National Stadium from 31 July to 03 August. The West Indies and Pakistan teams will then travel to Jamaica for two back-to-back Test matches at Sabina Park from August 12 to August 24 which conclude four days before the start of the Caribbean Premier League in Saint Kitts.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments